New Beta Release! Experience the latest features in our new beta version. Join the beta testing now!

Community

Viewer over WiFi cuts internet for all apps, ping still works??

Links used in this discussion
Tristan Towers, User (Posts: 7)
Feb 20, 2018 9:04:42 am EST
Support level: Free or trial
Viewer 6.6.0.7

Hi

I have been using RU Viewer for a couple of years on my old laptop without issue. I recently bought a new Dell laptop with Windows 10.

When running RU Viewer, I regularly get a complete loss of internet on my machine. I cannot access the internet from ANY program/app (browsers, RU Viewer etc). I am still connected to the WiFi, but it's as if there is no connection to the outside world. The timing varies, but on average RU will work perfectly for about 10 mins before the whole thing cuts out!

I CAN still ping - both the modem and external websites.

This issue is only present over WiFi. If plugging in via an Ethernet cable, there is no problem.

To make matters even more confusing this problem only happens with certain modems. My neighbour's modem works perfectly at my house, yet my own TWO modems both show the same problem (one brand new, the other old).

In all cases, I can run my old Win7 laptop right next to the new one, connected to a remote computer, and never experience this problem; it's definitely something specific to this new computer. As I said above, it works perfectly for a little while (up to an hour sometimes, but usually much less) but then it suddenly cuts out.

I've tried reinstalling the WiFi Adapter driver. I've tried various settings in Windows. I even tried reinstalling Windows. Nothing has fixed the issue. The problem is the same with or without AV/firewall activated.

I am suspecting some sort of configuration problem within Windows, but I'm open to any suggestions at all.

I am going nuts here!! Any suggestions very welcome.

Thanks in advance.
Conrad, Support (Posts: 2987)
Feb 20, 2018 10:20:21 am EST
Hello Tristan,