Community

Improved Chat Functionality

David, User (Posts: 25)
Feb 25, 2014 11:22:21 am EST
Support level: Free or trial
It would be nice if the chat session (including history) didn't just disappear when the chat session is either closed by the remote user, or when there is a network failure that temporarily disconnects the Host fr om the Viewer. In instances such as these, I'd like to be able to retain the chat history on screen and be able to pick up wh ere I left off once the network communication resumes.

Additionally, as an admin I'm always using the keyboard. Having to stop and use the mouse to click the "Send" button is cumbersome. If the chat window uses Windows Forms, setting the "Send" button as the default element on the form would remedy this. To overcome the fact that you would not be able to enter multi-line chats, just have something like Shift+Enter create a new line in the active chat, while keeping Enter to send the chat message.

Just a few ideas....
iampedro, User (Posts: 38)
Feb 25, 2014 3:12:10 pm EST
+1
Conrad Sallian, Support (Posts: 2987)
Feb 25, 2014 4:02:57 pm EST
Hello David,

It would be nice if the chat session (including history) didn't just disappear when the chat session is either closed by the remote user, or when there is a network failure that temporarily disconnects the Host fr om the Viewer. In instances such as these, I'd like to be able to retain the chat history on screen and be able to pick up wh ere I left off once the network communication resumes.

Chat history is already on our roadmap.