New Beta Release! Experience the latest features in our new beta version. Join the beta testing now!

Community

What setup will be best or what I need?

Links used in this discussion
Joseph Morris, User (Posts: 2)
Feb 07, 2021 2:42:37 pm EST
Support level: Free or trial
I have just downloaded Host, Viewer, and RU.  I am a veterinarian in a medium sized practice, and one of my "duties" is being Dr. IT.  Right now, I can connect remotely to our server computer, and using Windows Remote Desktop, connect to our desktop workstations.  But I have up to 5 part-time use laptops that have Win 10 Home, and therefore can't use unattended Remote Desktop.  I use access mostly to keep them up to date and run health checks on the machines, and is best done once the office is closed, thus most ( but not all ) of the time, I am doing this from home.  I only need remote utilities to access the laptops periodically.  I usually have my personal laptop with me at work ( I use it for work tasks there ), so, if I install the viewer on it, I could technically use it for the rare times for the rare times I need to access the laptops while I am at the office.  I know that this level of usage "qualifies" me for the free use, but, very rarely, we also need to have access for an employee to access their company machine.  I know that they could get their own viewer installed on their personal machine at home to accomplish this if needed, but my question is can two "free" users have the same "host" in their address book?  And, what if they attempt access while I am working on the computer remotely?  If either of those is prohibited, does that change if I have a paid license and they have a "free" one?  Finally, our workstations, including the laptops, are all behind two routers.  So would there be an advantage in using RU Server?  Thanks for any input on this, either from users or the company.
Pauline, Support (Posts: 2830)
Feb 08, 2021 4:41:22 pm EST
Hello Joseph,

Thank you for your message.