New Beta Release! Experience the latest features in our new beta version. Join the beta testing now!

Community

License Question

Links used in this discussion
Dominic Ene, User (Posts: 2)
Feb 23, 2015 7:32:53 pm EST
Support level: Free or trial
Hello All,

I'm a newbie and want to get an understanding of the licensing process. If I use the portable viewer and have end users use the agent tool for a spontaneous remote support session. Will this deduct from my 10 license keys. If so does this happen after the 30 day trial?

I've been looking all over the site and it doesn't specify if the license key is for per session, per workstation or per host that the software is installed on ...

I hope I'm making sense
Bobby Mills, User (Posts: 34)
Feb 23, 2015 8:12:43 pm EST
someone correct me if I am wrong.... you get a license for up to 10 Host( remote PC) so if you have viewer or Portable (this isn't counted toward your license) only the Host you register the license on count. I haven't worked with agent just the Host, but seems reasonable they both operate the same just 1 is a install the other isn't. So long story short the number of Hosts you have count toward your number of licenses left ( to my knowledge.. lol i could be wrong. )
Conrad Sallian, Support (Posts: 2987)
Feb 23, 2015 8:32:06 pm EST
Thank you for your question, Dominic. And thank you, Bobby, for your answer.

Generally, what Bobby said was correct. I can only add that in the upcoming release 6.1 the Host module registration will become unnecessary. From then on the Host (and Agent for that matter) will be a "free-floating" module. Instead, you'll need to apply your license key in the Viewer.

For the "per remote PC" license type the Viewer will simply count the number of records in your address book and compare that number with the number allowed by your license key. If it's a free license key, the allowed number is 10.