Community

Upgrading to version 7 viewer

Links used in this discussion
Christopher Garcia, User (Posts: 2)
Mar 09, 2021 12:31:01 pm EST
Support level: Free or trial
Intro:
I work in IT, in our company we use,  [censored] , SplashTop, [censored] , Putty, Zoho, Remote U, Etc.

We have several free and paid version of the Remote U. viewer version 6.8 and 6.9.
We accidentally upgraded the viewer to V,7, (Update pops up when initializing the viewer).
Anyway our paid viewer V.6.8-6.9 upgraded to V.7, free for trial mode, and then the fun begins, after 30 days it stops working even with a (v.6.8-9) paid licence.

The fun part is that when I uninstall the V.7 to reinstall V.6, Remote Utilities does not work anymore.
More fun came when I went inside registry to perform a complete program deletion, and later found out that Remote Utilities does not work even after reinstalling a downgraded paid version.

** Remote Utilities company**
If you read this, Please fix this, stop losing money and customers, your customer service is inexistent.
Conrad Sallian, Support (Posts: 3022)
Mar 09, 2021 1:17:15 pm EST
Hi Christopher,

We have several free and paid version of the Remote U. viewer version 6.8 and 6.9.

Our license is per major version. Your license key for version 6 works with any 6.x.x.x version regardless of the minor release number.

We accidentally upgraded the viewer to V,7, (Update pops up when initializing the viewer).

Yes, unfortunately we didn't update that mechanism in time to accomodate for major upgrade. We are sorry for that. But that doesn't mean that we force anyone to use version 7. Anyone can downgrade their Viewer if they are not eligible for free upgrade (customers who purchased in 2020-21 are).

Anyway our paid viewer V.6.8-6.9 upgraded to V.7, free for trial mode, and then the fun begins, after 30 days it stops working even with a (v.6.8-9) paid licence.